Course Calendar

Class Meeting
Topic
Readings
Assignments due
Week 1
Tuesday Jan 21
Introductions and overview


Thursday Jan 23
Curriculum planning
Smagorinsky: Teaching English by Design (ch. 4)

Week 2
Tuesday Jan 29
Poetry
Billy Collins – Introduction to his Poetry 180 book

Thursday Jan 31
Poetry
Skelton – Finding a Place for Poetry…

Week 3
Tuesday Feb 5
More on curriculum and planning
Lattimer: Thinking Through Genre – chapter 1 – “Teaching Genre in the Classroom”

Thursday Feb 7
More on curriculum and planning
Smagorinsky: Teaching English by Design (ch. 8)

Week 4
Tuesday Feb 12
Poetry
Atwell – Finding Poetry Everywhere

Thursday Feb 14
More on curriculum and planning
[Atwell here, really]
due: letter to me, about what you think you want to do for your unit.





Week 5
February Vacation


Week 6
Tuesday Feb 26
More on curriculum and planning; Common Core
Tucking the Pigeons Up Your Sleeve: Ten Personae Teach One Nonfiction Course – [English Journal, Sunstein]
Also: From the Editor
Due: list of possible texts students could read
Thursday Feb 28
Unit Plan
Independent Reading

Week 7
Tuesday Mar 5
Unit Plan
Independent reading

Thursday Mar 7
Poetry
[Atwell?]
Unit Plan piece #1 due
Week 8
Tuesday Mar 12
Unit Plan
Independent reading

Thursday Mar 14
More on Curriculum and Planning
Singer and Hubbard: Teaching from the Heart
Poetry Project:
  • § Paraphrase
  • § Initial response
Week 9
Tuesday Mar 19
Unit Plan
Independent Reading

Thursday Mar 21
Unit Planning
Teaching English by Design
Unit Plan piece #2 due
Week 10
Tuesday Mar 26
More on curriculum and planning; Common Core
Eavesdropping on Contemporary Minds: Why We Need More Essays in Our High School Classrooms – [English Journal, Campbell]

Thursday Mar 28
More on curriculum and planning; Common Core
Contemporary Memoir: A 21st Century Genre Ideal for Teens [English Journal, Kirby and Kirby]
Poetry Project
Two pieces due
Week 11


April Vacation
Week 12
Tuesday Apr 9
Poetry


Thursday Apr 11
More on Curriculum and planning; Common Core
Beyond “Is This OK?”: High School Writers Building Their Understandings of Genre [Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy, Whitney et al]

Week 13
Tuesday Apr 16
Unit Planning
Teaching English by Design

Thursday Apr 18
More on Curriculum and planning; Common Core
Lattimer/Genre, Editorial chapter
Poetry Project
Two pieces due
Week 14
Tuesday Apr 23
Poetry
Reading TBA

Thursday Apr 25
Poetry
Reading TBA
UNIT PLAN FINAL DUE
Week 15
Tuesday Apr 30
Novels in Verse


Thursday May 2
Novels in Verse


Week 16
Tuesday May 7
Shakespeare
Reading TBA

Thursday May 9
Shakespeare
Reading TBA
Poetry Projects:
Final Due
Finals



Poems Every Day response due